Shift Happens…Visions of Students Today

Today we discuss the ever popular medium of YouTube videos that demonstrate all the ways that this latest generation of people and students is being affected by globalization and the advancement of technology. I have seen the Shift Happens

and the

Did You Know

videos several times in many classes and I always have the same thought…”Time to catch up”.

Evolution is a real process and it is not just about creatures getting bigger and stronger so that they can claim more corners of this Earth as their own. Our minds go through cognitive evolution every minute of the day. Needs evolve and the technology as well as education levels required to me those needs evolve as well.

We are living in a digital age, there is no escaping that. The bar has been raised and as such I feel we as a people should be stepping up to meet that bar. The old systems no longer work, the world has gotten too big and is spinning way too fast, “Time to catch up”.

Classes like Education 407, Facebook, E-books, Outsourcing, English as a universal language…these are all just examples of how the evolution process is running rampant all over us. With 8 babies being born every second, software becoming outdated in six months, and the rise of the super power known as the Internet we as human beings are required to learn new things CONSTANTLY.

We need to prepare

2 thoughts on “Shift Happens…Visions of Students Today

  1. katymata says:

    I have to say that I completely agree with you that our education system has to evolve to fit as you said this “digital age.” The old system isn’t cutting it anymore and students nowadays are more technology savvy and expect teachers to reach their expectations. For instance I do some volunteer work in my sisters class and she teaches high school, and these kids are already way ahead of the ball game. Just the other day they were working on a group presentation and they were the ones that insinuated to use Google docs or Prezi as a ways of collaborating, I myself wasn’t introduced to this till I was in college. Great post I enjoyed reading your point of view.

  2. lukemeyer says:

    EPIC post!!! On one hand, I’m excited by the energy created by the age of the web. One the other, it scares the hell out of me. As the video states, “We are living in EXPONENTIAL times.” And as you state, “Time to catch up.” Change is occurring so quickly, and if it continues at this exponential rate, how we will ever stay on top? It has to flatten at some threshold. Or at least slow down so that the entire human race doesn’t have to relearn how the world works every day….every hour…every minute…every SECOND….every NANOSECOND….see what I did there? I just one-upped Shift Happens! Just kidding, but I couldn’t resist. But seriously, its pretty amazing what we are capable of, but as I alluded to in the beginning, its scary what we are capable of. Besides, I’m not so sure that spending hours upon hours locked into the digital world is such a great idea. I used to look at my friends who stayed up all night in chat rooms, talking with people they didn’t know out of the sheer thrill of just being able to do so, and think that they were missing out on the “real” world. But with all of these advancements, it seems that the digital world is one that is potentially becoming more real than the actual real world. I’m not sure I know how I feel about this.

    To end on a good note, I dig your post. You speak in a way that makes you seem like a beacon of hope for this new age. I sense a big of excitement, but also a bit of disgust with the world’s tendency to stay stuck in old times…not wanting to take the dive and get into something really new. You are already there, waiting for the world to catch up. Keep on Amber! We are right behind you, slowly reaching your plane!!

Leave a Reply

