Words with Friends

This is what appears when you win the game
This is what appears when you win the game

The educational tool I focused on this week is actually just a simple word game that has been around for decades. The reason I chose this particular tool is simple, it speaks of this generation. How many people sat around playing Scrabble on family night? Let’s admit it, you hated that game as a kid because it wasn’t shiny or flashy, you didn’t blow stuff up or defeat monsters. You basically sat around a table while your parents showed you they knew much bigger words than you did.

Words with Friends is for the “instant gratification” age. It’s got brighter colors, chat features, and you can play it on your cellphone. The ability to play random opponents from all over the world can make you feel so very cool especially if you crush them by a large margin. People love to feel superior and boy does this game give that feeling in spades!

Despite the fact that this tool is a game, you still learn. You get to step into a realm with words that break all kinds of rules you learned in school. For example, did you know there is a word out there that starts with the letter “Q” but has no “U” in it? Consider your mind blown. Or how about the fact that there are no two letter words in the English language that start with “C” or “V”? Ca and Va…I don’t think so.

I predict that Words with Friends will be around for a long time. It’s popularity keeps coming back in waves and now they even have a game board version, and it’s not called Scrabble. There is always someone who is going to get that amazing phone upgrade and suddenly want to challenge all their friends to the games they’ve been missing out on and if teachers allow it in the classroom as part of the regular curriculum then it’s not going anywhere.

2 thoughts on “Words with Friends

  1. fsabatelli says:

    This is such an awesome idea to use as a tool! While I have played my fair share of Words With Friends, I never thought about using it as a classroom tool. I was one of the weird kids who loved played Scrabble or other word games. When Words With Friends became popular, I was so excited. I agree with you that it gives you instant gratification. I also love that you can play whenever you want and a came can continue for a while. Therefore, you do not have to finish the game in one sitting. This would help students with their spelling and vocabulary. They can look up new words to use. This is such a great way to incorporate technology in the classroom.

  2. lukemeyer says:

    I haven’t played Word with Friends, but a friend of mine developed a game called, Word Derby, which is pretty great. I played it for about three straights days. I was pretty good at it, but one player kept beating me. I was completely dishonest and found a word/letter descrambler online that allowed me CRUSH HIM/HER. I used it for awhile to absolutely destroy opponents, but then felt guilty for using it. I actually quit the game altogether after that because I realized, what is stopping other people from using this same cheating method? Anyway, I love your post. I think a game like this is great to use in school in an organized way. It teaches spelling, but it also teaches strategy, like how to capitalize on triple word spaces and whatnot (assuming those are included in the game). Great post, and I agree with you, Words with Friends is not going anywhere.

Leave a Reply

