“Cynicism Is Contagious; So Is Hope”; An Edutopia Blog

“Cynicism can rot out a school the way termites rot out a wooden home”

In a blog written by Dr. Richard Curwin, I got to read up on of my favorite subjects:

Dr. Richard Curwin

Educators who have lost hope. With the little experience I have had in the field of education I have met many a cynic. They watch the clock count down, gripe about their students, and day dream about summer break when they can start having fun. It’s not very encouraging…apparently Dr. Curwin shares my sentiment.

“Cynicism is a plague that kills dreams. It sucks the life out of teachers and robs students of hope. No student deserves to have a teacher who has given up hope.”

I couldn’t agree more. Imagine how  the student feels when they can tell from that bored expression on their teacher’s face how little that person believes in them? It’s not an environment that encourages learning for anyone. Hold strong teachers! Remember why you got into this field in the first place. It’s because we love education and it’s because we recognize that one of the most influential people a person will ever meet is a good teacher.

Have no fear, Curwin has a list of strategies that will help teachers fight off those cynical doldrums;

Five Strategies to Help Teachers Stop Cynical Feelings:

  1. Remember why you became a teacher and why you stay a teacher.
  2. Adopt a hopeless student.
  3. Adopt a cynical teacher.
  4. Communicate with those who affect you in school
  5. Feel good about what you can control.

With each of these techniques you motivate yourself and others. My favorite is number 5. There will always be difficult students and there will always be students that you just can’t crack but there will never be a point where you don’t recognize that at least you tried. Feel good about the fact that you made an attempt to change a person’s life, it’s an amazing feeling.

Overall I really enjoyed this blog. I was beginning to be afraid that cynicism in teachers was the norm and to be expected. It’s good to know that there are still educators out there that want to help. You can check out the rest of the blog at : http://www.edutopia.org/blog/cynicism-is-contagious-richard-curwin

2 thoughts on ““Cynicism Is Contagious; So Is Hope”; An Edutopia Blog

  1. lukemeyer says:

    Wow. Took the words right out of my mouth. You know the fieldwork that we complete for our program? I think back on it, and what I learned, and most of the things that come to mind are not to be like the teacher that I observed! Of course this isn’t always true, but sometimes I dread doing my fieldwork because I feel like my supervising teacher has lost hope and given up of their profession! It is sad and depressing to work alongside someone who is sad and depressed! I don’t care if those teachers look at me and think that I am an idealist, or have my head in the clouds. I care about quality teaching and I care about the kids that I see everyday. I look forward to helping them in any way I can. Cynicism is toxic.

  2. fsabatelli says:

    I feel that Educators who have lost hope is a very important topic to look at. With the constantly changing times and curriculum, teachers are trying to adapt and learn the new standards. If they have trouble adapting, they can loose hope. As teachers, we need to be encouraging so our students will work hard. Students can tell if a teacher is not motivated and does not want to be there. I think the quote “No student deserves to have a teacher who has given up hope” is a great way to state this.
    I believe Curwin’s five strategies would be helpful in solving this problem. It is ALWAYS important for us to remember why we wanted to become a teacher. We all wanted to do it for a reason and we should remember that passion. By working together with other teachers, we can get through any trying times. This was a great article choice and so important for us future educators to remember.

Leave a Reply

