Dating…It’s a Trap!

Hey folks, been awhile…Today’s blog is on a subject that has become both ridiculously confusing and completely tragic at the same time. That’s right people I’m gonna be ranting about DATING.

its-a-trap-what-happens-when-advertisers-dont-meet-twitters-spending-quotas

Now I know I’m not the only one who heard thunder and dramatic music in my head when I read the word dating and I think that now a days young people have no idea how to date one another.

Case and point: My roommate, let’s just call her J, met a guy whom we will call A at a bar and they exchanged phone numbers. A later contacts J and wants to set up a date with her. Seemed simple enough to me except that it wasn’t because Guy named A invited Girl named J to a graduation party as his date and Girl named J felt that she and Guy named A had not spent enough time getting to one another to go on a date that involved meeting his friends. They had been communicating with one another for days via text but apparently that was not enough time to go on a “real” date with him. Instead she wanted to meet in the middle of the day for coffee and in no way wanted this meeting to be referred to as a date. In fact whenever we asked if she was looking forward to the date she would shout at us all that it was quote not a date because it was just coffee, end quote.

It was about this time that I became confused. I though that going on a date involved two people meeting up at a specified location at a designated time with the intentions of getting to know one another in hopes that there is compatibility for a possible sexual liaison that might eventually lead to a long term relationship…have I misinterpreted the word?

awkward-first-date-conversation.s600x600

When did it all get so complicated? What happened to a guy liking a girl and asking her out, and if the night went well he calls her the next day to set up another date? Now there’s all these rules about how much time one should let pass before texting, and if you text too soon you look too needy and people don’t like that. I mean has it really gotten to the point where you can sleep with a person the first night you meet them, but calling them the next day is a bad idea?

There’s so many terms for being involved!

  • There’s the whole “we’re not dating we’re just talking to one another”…people don’t talk on dates?
  •  There’s the “we’re not a couple but neither of us is allowed to be with anyone else without telling the other person first”, I thought that was called not cheating on your significant other.
  • There’s the “we’re monogamous but we don’t like using titles” couple which just makes me uncomfortable because that’s just dumb
  • There’s the people who pretend to be ok with being labeled a jump off, sex buddy, a one night stand, or a booty call

It just makes me want to avoid the whole thing all together, but when 1/3 of the marriages in United States start as online relationships I think it’s pretty clear that people like being with one another! So why all the antics folks? Why all the tricky rules and labels that make no sense when you could just be enjoying someone’s company? You don’t have to be afraid I promise.

 

Yours truly,

Amber Mosby…”Forgive me if I don’t get excited”

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dating…It’s a Trap!

  1. Hoobler says:

    You have not misinterpreted the word. “Dating, a form of courtship which may include any social activity undertaken by, typically, two persons with the aim of assessing each other’s suitability as a partner.” This is what I have always considered it to be. Even coffee or lunch with a potential partner, is a date in my mind.

    I hate dating, being the “nice guy” that I am it has always seems to end in absolute tragedy for me. I have swayed more toward one night stands in the recent years, mostly because of multiple (read: 42 months) tours to the Middle East and the resulting horrendous stability. Unfortunately this has closed me off even more to the idea, and it is very rare that I go on a “Date” with just any woman anymore. It really takes a special person that I am willing to invest lots of time into, to get me out on a date. I know, that kinda makes me a terrible person with all the philandering and whatnot, but I am really trying to work on it.

  2. Edgar Felipe Carrasco says:

    Word! Seriously, I don’t hate dating but there must be a reason I haven’t been on a outing, planned activity, “date” whatever; in a long time.

Leave a Reply

