Inspired By…

Greetings everyone! So a week ago I was watching “Orange is the New Black” on Netflix and there is a scene in the show where the main character (whose name is Piper) says a line from Pablo Neruda and I remembered the oh so cool poetry challenge that I had participated in at the beginning of this year. We were given a line of poetry and then asked to build our own poem around it.

So the line of poetry is as follows :

“I want to do to you what Spring does with the cherry trees…”

How sexy is that? I was so easily inspired and ended up writing this…

Sakura, Cherry Tree

 

I want to do to you what Spring does with the cherry trees…

Sing the song that makes you stretch up and bloom

Whisper the words that make you open up for more of me and touch your youth for just a moment

I want to do to you what Spring does with the cherry trees…

Remind you of your purpose in life

Awaken what was dormant in you and enjoy the fruit loving you bares

Now if you know me at all then you know I’m no big fan of romance but I must admit I just can’t get enough of that opening line. It’s simplicity speaks volumes and I really enjoyed writing this piece.

Yours truly,

Amber Mosby   “Forgive me if I don’t get excited…”

Leave a Reply

