Author Interview with Dawn Husted

This is an interview I did in April with BookLoads : http://bookloads.weebly.com/index.html

AMBER MOSBY AUTHOR OF LYONS’ GIRL THUNDER AND LIGHTENING

Picture

What inspired you to write your first book? To be honest I’m not really sure. I had always written short stories in my free time and then I remember sitting in one of my classes and the concept for Lyons’ Girl just hit me. I had a first draft done in about 6 months. I was so excited because I was only 16 years old!

Do you have a specific writing style? How do I answer this without sounding cliché…I try to make my characters sound as real as possible, by which I mean I want them to truly speak and act just like the average person would. When something’s weird I want them to point that out and when someone is pissed I want them yelling for no reason. I want the language and voice of the story to always be relatable so I do my best to put in sarcasm, epiphany moments, douche bag talk when necessary, and the right words for a heart to heart. I want people to feel like it could be them sitting there saying the words they are reading I hate it when a story is too stiff.

How long does it take you to write a book? It takes me no time at all to write a book, it’s the editing that seems to take me FOREVER! I always have one more idea I want to include or a scene I can make better so I end up reading my own manuscript 8-10 times before I think it’s even remotely close to a good product

How do you come up with your titles? I usually pick up on a small theme in the story and focus the title on that.

How many books have you written? I have three completed manuscripts and two more that I am working on now.


Picture

Which is your favorite? My favorite will always be Lyons’ Girl. It was my very first novel and I love reading it all the time.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? No I don’t have any agenda with my stories. I want people to enjoy what I hope is a good story.

Do you have any advice for other writers? My advice to other writers is NEVER TAKE IT PERSONALLY! A person not liking your story does not mean they don’t like you. When we go to bookstores we pass by so many books that don’t interest us. This will happen to you as well, it is not the end of the world.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? I want to entertain you…I want you to read my stories and walk away glad that you took the time to finish my book. That’s all I’ve ever wanted

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Some of my characters personality types are based on people I know but I don’t use my own personal experiences to write stories too often.

What books have most influenced your life most? People might laugh but it’s Sandra Brown, Christina Dodd, and Stephen King for me all day. When I turned 14 I checked out every single one of their books I could find in every local library. I just couldn’t get enough of them. I’ve read the literary greats as well but when I’m going to snuggle up with a book, I reach for one of theirs.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Christina Dodd. She’s always been edgier in her writing than other authors for me, even when she was writing a historical piece people would be pushing boundaries and using rougher language and her love scenes were a lot more intense than what I had read in other stories. She also wrote the first paranormal romance I had ever read only I didn’t realize that’s what it was at the time. She had a male character that was part Selkie!

What book are you reading now? Right now I am reading up on Greek and Roman Mythology. I just finished The Regulators by Stephen King…which was great by the way.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? Photography! I have a degree in photojournalism so I have been working on bulking up my portfolio.

What are your current projects? I am starting my very own vampire trilogy. My sister challenged me to write one so I am working on minor details because I am taking the vampire legend back to its traditional roots. Less glamorous and more bloody.

Do you see writing as a career or as a hobby? Have you always dreamed of writing or was it something you came upon later in life? I have always wanted to be a writer. When I was six years old I was picked out of all my classmates to write a short story on being a tooth and I have been cranking out stories ever since. I have pursued other career paths because being a writer can be difficult when it’s time to pay the bills, but I would walk away from everything else for writing.


Picture

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? What do you think makes a good story? If I could do it all over again, I would try not to see my first book as the end all be all the way I did. It took me so long to edit it because I kept thinking it’s perfect the way it is and if I do anything different I’m going to ruin the entire thing hahaha but the story wasn’t perfect. It was incredibly flawed and needed to be polished up in a serious way but the heart of the story was always good and that’s what I couldn’t understand.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Someone told me to write…and I did. That’s all it took.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Sensory details! I get so caught up in the story that I forget people aren’t inside my head. They can’t see what anyone is wearing or what they’re doing until I write it down. It’s not just about the heavy scenes, I have to remember to slow down and build the imagery.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I learned that I am not a writing God. Lots of people have stories to tell out there, people aren’t just sitting back waiting for mine.

What was the hardest part of writing your book? Editing it, getting critiques and feedback. I just kept arguing with everyone and I was getting so pissy because I was like they just don’t understand me! Hahaha but I finally got my head together by the end, took their notes into consideration, and rewrote my book almost from scratch three times.

What are your favorite movies and what book genres do you like reading/writing the most? Favorite movies: Rock-a-DoodlePowder, and Girl Interrupted. I like reading Thrillers, Urban Fiction/Paranormal Romance, and some Historical pieces. Every now and then I throw in some Chick Lit or something along the lines of “I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell”.


AN EXCERPT FROM AN UPCOMING BOOK BY MOSBY:

I looked down at him and he stared up at me. At that moment I knew he saw me, saw all the way in past my bravado and my barriers. He looked in and he saw just me. My pulse quickened  and I felt my heart  rate increase. I was almost in full flight mode at this point. I wanted away from him and his knowing eyes, I wanted space to gather my thoughts and defenses. I opened my mouth to say something, I didn’t know what exactly but I knew I wanted it to be so rude that it would scare him right out of my apartment.  Before I could even utter a harsh breath, Tristan clapped his hand over my mouth.

“Don’t even think about it.” he growled.

I really enjoyed doing the interview and I look forward to doing more!

Yours Truly,

Amber Mosby  “Forgive me if I don’t get excited…”

 

Leave a Reply

