Book Review: The Regent’s Gamble by A. Payne & N.D. Taylor

Read in January, 2014
Ok folks so I just finished this 29 chapter book and I must say I have all sorts of feelings about it. It starts off with this amazing prologue that sets up an epic battle between a male witch (or mage) and a Lich. Right off the bat I was very excited because how often do you get to read a book where the magical character is a man? The battle, which is happening in Central Park, goes on and we see a fight with a wraith AND a dragon even makes an appearance. It was very exciting to read…then chapter one comes in and it’s all downhill from there.This book has got to be one of the most convoluted stories I have ever read! The book picks up a year after Addison Rhydderch’s (very cool name) death dealing battle with the Lich and then for almost 20 chapters of book there is no real explanation of that battle at all. I kept thinking this will all make sense eventually but it never really did. Meanwhile we have two separate love stories going on simultaneously, and at least three other subplots that really just made the story all the more confusing. I mean seriously there’s like a plot about a centuries old family curse, a shade or a Planeswalker (capital P), a little girl with powers, a hidden love child, and all this hoopla about building a better relationship between humans and Fae (capital F). Throw in random time jumps and so many characters that I didn’t even realize who some of the bad guys were even though they were there all along. There were literally characters that were introduced for one or two paragraphs and then never mentioned again. This is a clear indication that this book is part of a future series but I wish I would have known that when I started the book. I’m still not quite sure who the real villain of this first installment is if I’m being honest :-).

Now it wasn’t all bad. I must say that every main character introduced, and there were several, is someone that I enjoyed reading about. The authors went on to describe their physical characteristics so many times that it was like Addison and crew were sitting right in front of me. I could envision them that clearly. The love story between Addison and Saraia is a typical one and I felt like the conflict between them was forced but then again that reminded me a lot of real life. The love story between Noah and Liv is so syrupy sweet it made my teeth hurt. I am not a fan of sappy love but the scenes were very well written and that’s what counts.

I am giving this book three stars for the sheer amount of detail these two authors used in this story. I can’t imagine how they kept it all straight. I also loved the fact that they pulled in different types of folklore than what we normally see. Spriggans, Dryads, Magi, Griffins, even Hellhounds flooded the pages of this book and I enjoyed reading about them.

Overall I think the book could use some restructuring but the basic story is there and I can see people really enjoying the story

Yours Truly,
Amber Mosby “Forgive me if I don’t get excited…”
Leave a Reply

