Book Review: The Falling of Love (Falling,#1) by Marisa Oldham

Read in January, 2014

 

The Falling of Love by Marisa Oldham is not at all what I expected it to be. When it started off with the somewhat cliche plot line of the cheerleader falling for the rock star I was worried that I would not enjoy the story, but I was somewhat surprised by the turn of events as the book flowed along.

I want to rate this story 3.5 stars and here’s why. I personally found it hard to relate to any of the characters in the story, although to be fair, as Grace began to experience her sexuality for the first time I remember having some of the exact same thoughts she did about what was clean and what was dirty, and what kind of person I was for enjoying them. Ian Taylor’s character did EVERYTHING that I expected him to do. I could almost predict the words that were going to come out of his mouth. Maybe it’s because his story is a very typical one, or maybe it’s because his character was simple enough that you could guess at his motivations right away. I’m not saying this makes him a bad character, I’m just saying there is no surprises with that kid.

Grace began to annoy me about half way through the book. Her reactions were always instantly emotional ones. I kept having to remind myself that she is just a kid and that’s how we all acted at that age, so the author does a very good job of writing an emotional teen who’s in WAY over her head.

What I loved most about this story was the emphasis on having a strong support system and the tragedies that can happen when you feel like you have no one. When Ian destroyed all that Grace knew about herself, she was able to put her life back together with the help of friends and family. This can be such a life saver when you feel like you’ve fallen into the darkest pit and there is no way out. I really appreciated the strength of Grace’s family and the somewhat tricky friendship she was able to build with Jaeden.

My one major complaint with the story is that as I was reading it, I felt like I was reading a case study or a medical report. It was as if someone had quietly observed the events in the story and wrote down what they saw. It was stiff, it had a feeling of being “not quite done” to it. Still it was an enjoyable read. Well done

Yours Truly,
Amber Mosby  “Forgive me if I don’t get excited…”
Leave a Reply

