Soldier On

You know, there’s something to be said of the people that can just soldier on.

Today I find myself thinking of all those people who just put their heads down and go to work day in and day out with the knowledge that living life means sacrifice. I have a friend that has just recently become acquainted with the teachings of Carl Sagan and has had his mind blown by the fact that the Earth is just a tiny little speck in the great entity that is our Universe. All he can say is, “Amber do you know how small we are?”

I do know, and I’ve known for a very long time. So back to my new heroes…those that soldier on. We constantly see memes with these messages like: “money doesn’t matter, happiness does” and “you only have one life to live so don’t waste it”. These messages are all well and good until your rent is due. It’s easy to say who cares about money until the internet bill shows up and we all know how much you need the internet so that you can keep posting those trite little memes about what happiness is.

There’s something to be said for people who are able to suppress their individual creative spark to work a 7 to 9 job because let’s be honest, no one can afford to live on a 9-5 anymore. There is something to be said for the people who recognized that becoming an adult meant sacrificing childish things and adapting to your responsibilities. Recently, I came to realize that I am one of those people. I’m in a field I never wanted to be, in a graduate program that does not make me happy, living in a city I don’t enjoy and even though the thought of living this life until I pass on crushes me, I understand that dreams don’t always come true no matter how hard you wish for them.

So…there is something to be said for the people who soldier on. I salute you all.

 

Yours Truly,

Amber Mosby  “Forgive me if I don’t get excited…”

One thought on “Soldier On

  1. Jaguars says:

    I like this. I’ve recently become very tired of the memes people post as well. It’s all the same regurgitated inspirational bullshit. Outside of this perfect life you want everyone to believe you have comes responsibility. No everything didn’t happen for a reason but this is what my life is. I’m okay with that nor am I saying that I’m complacent, but not all of us can afford the luxury of “YOLO” and spending frivolously on stuff I really don’t need. So thank you for saluting those who are just trying to get by. We salute you too.

Leave a Reply

