Let’s Get Technical

That’s it I’ve had it!

Not a very nice way to start a blog but I’m frustrated and I’m here to vent. Labels, titles, categories, boxes to be checked…THEY ALL SUCK. Everyday I am forced to learn a new label that applies to people and if I use it wrong I’m the jerk, and if I call you something I’m the jerk, and if I take a deep breath, I’m the jerk. What is happening here? Who even are we anymore?

I can’t take it, especially when I read a comment or a blog (ha ha, very meta) and someone is arguing and uses one of these newfangled labels as an insult and it turns out they are using it all wrong. It seems like no one even knows what the hell they are talking about anymore. So let’s get technical and define some of these terms:

  1. Alt-Right

Some  are calling this the new Nazi. As terrifying as this sounds, it’s really more like extreme Republicans (as if they aren’t often extreme enough on a regular basis). Alternative Right  are those right wingers that oppose mainstream conservatism because it is “too liberal”. Is there a conservative Olympics? Events included are: fighting for gun rights, opposing abortion, stealing native peoples lands, and ultimate Ponzi schemes. A conservative is a damn conservative. Get over yourself.

2. Feminist

Mmkay, so I feel like I shouldn’t have to explain this one but apparently it’s needed. The definition of feminism is quite simple “the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men”. Nowhere in this statement does it say lesbian, man hater, shrew, bitch, harpy, or any of the other hateful shit people keep attaching to this word. Wanting equal rights for women when history, television, and our society in general has made it their job to show women they are not equal to men doesn’t make you a bad person. When a woman shines a light on patriarchy, male privilege, or general douchebagery, she is not trying to become a man, she is not a feminazi, she’s just someone who is fed the fuck up. Pull your head out of your ass.

3. Liberal

A person “open to new behavior or opinions and willing to discard traditional values”. Not a social justice warrior, not a special little snowflake, not a “everyone should get a participation trophy” person. Just someone who is open minded and willing to break away from the norm. Why is this a bad thing? How is this an insult? Why is calling someone a “liberal retard” supposed to be ok? Sometimes people are overly sensitive (especially on the internet) but having a liberal stance is nowhere near this notion.

4. Cis-gender

Why? Just why? This term basically means not transgender or identifying with the gender you were born with. Why do we need this? I’m pretty sure no one cares what gender you identify with. Who created this? Why are you so bored that you felt the need to make this term? People who are trans have a lot to go through and have earned their classification (if they so choose to use it). People who are just walking around living their lives don’t need a classification. If you’re not trans, I’m pretty sure you know it and don’t need a title to declare that. This word is the very definition of “everyone gets a participation trophy instead of a winner being declared”. Haha so unnecessary!

 

I’m just going to go ahead and stop here. The more I type, the more annoyed I get. Why can’t people just live. If you have an opinion on something, share it on the appropriate venue, that is your right as a human being. You’ve got a voice and you can use it but this whole I need a label to show who I am thing is childish. It’s boring too.

Yours Truly,

Amber Mosby   “Forgive me if I don’t get excited…”

Leave a Reply

